AnnaBanan’s Blog

Step Into My Mind…

Promoting Alcoholism and Sexual Promiscuity? May 11, 2009

Filed under: Music,Problems,Sin — annabanan @ 1:34 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been thinking a lot about this lately. Especially with Artur (our Pastor)  breifly mentioning this just this Sunday…I realized that I should write a blog about it.

We see promotion of Alcoholism and Sex everywhere, seriously, it is absolutely ridiculous. What I want to do is to give or show an example of this. My main focus here is music, specifically these two songs “Blame It” – Jamie Foxx and “Just Dance” – Lady Gaga because they have become really popular. These types of songs are fun and catchy and they get stuck in our heads. We end up singing along with them in the car on the radio and we spend the rest of the day humming and singing it.

Some of the images in their videos are dirty and I apologie for that, if you don’t want to watch it, that’s fine. But I just want to present the lyrics and the videos here just so you see what we are actually listening to and watching and the messages that we recieve and accept and tolerate unconsciously…

Here is “Blame It” by Jamie Foxx

(If you Cannot View the Video click here http://www.mtv.com/videos/jamie-foxx/348227/blame-it.jhtml#artist=1998098)

 

Blame it on the Goose (goose)
Got you feeling loose (loose)
Blame it on Petron (‘tron)
Got you in the zone (zone)
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the alcohol (fades)

(Verse 1)

Ay, She say she usually don’t
But I know that she front
Cause shawty know what she want
But she don’t wanna seem like she easy
I hear you saying what ya won’t do
But you know we probably gon do
What you been fening deep inside
Don’t lie now

(Chorus)

Girl, What ya drinking
Gone let it sink in
Here for the weekend
Thinking, we can
See what we can be if we press fast foward
Just one more round
If you’re down, I’m for it
Fill another cup up
Feeling on your butt-What?
You don’t even care now
I was unaware
How fine you was before my buzz set in
(My buzz set in)

Blame it on the Goose (goose)
Got you feeling loose (loose)
Blame it on Petron (‘tron)
Got you in the zone (zone)
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the Vodka
Blame it on the Henny
Blame it on the Blue Tap
Gotcha feeling dizzy
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the alcohol (fades)

(Verse 2)

Oooh, see?
She spilled some drink on me
And now I’m knowing she’s tipsy
She put her body on me
And she keep staring me right in my eyes
No telling what I’m gone do
Baby, I would rather show you
What you been missing in your life
When I get inside

(Chorus)

Girl, What ya drinking
Gone let it sink in
Here for the weekend
Thinking, we can
See what we can be if we press fast foward
Just one more round
If you’re down, I’m for it
Fill another cup up
Feeling on your butt-What?
You don’t even care now
I was unaware
How fine you was before my buzz set in
(My buzz set in)

Blame it on the Goose (goose)
Got you feeling loose (loose)
Blame it on Petron (‘tron)
Got you in the zone (zone)
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the Vodka
Blame it on the Henny
Blame it on the Blue Tap
Gotcha feeling dizzy
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the alcohol (fades)

(T-Pain Verse)

Girl I know you feel good
Just like you look
Couple more shots
You open up like a book
I ain’t tripping
(Cause I’mma read ya)
I ain’t tripping
(I just wanna please ya)
I’mma take a shot of *Nuvo
Shawty didn’t you know
It’s going down
And we can go and kick it like Judo
You know what I mean
Shawty got drunk, thought it all was a dream
So I made her say, “Ah, Ah, Ah”
Now she got her hands on my legs
Got my seats all wet in my ride
All over my ride
She look me dead in the eye (eye, eye)
Then my pants got bigger
She already knew what the figure
Had her looking at her boyfriend
Like xxxxx that Nigga”

(T-Pain Chorus)

Blame it on the juice
Got you feeling loose
Blame it on Petron
Got you in the zone (zone)
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the Vodka
Blame it on the Henny
Blame it on the Blue Tap
Gotcha feeling dizzy
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the alcohol (fades)

Now to the Ballers popping bottles
With their Henny in they cups
Screaming “Money ain’t a thing”
And if it ain’t, throw it up
In the sky, Hold your drinks up high
And to the independent Ballers
Who can buy they own bottles
And if you looking like a model
When them broke fellas holla
Tell them bye
And hold ya drinks up high
You can…

Blame it on the Goose (goose)
Got you feeling loose (loose)
Blame it on Petron (‘tron)
Got you in the zone (zone)
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the Vodka
Blame it on the Henny
Blame it on the Blue Tap
Gotcha feeling dizzy
Blame it on the a-a-a-a-a-a-alcohol
Blame it on the alcohol (fades)

 

Here is “Just Dance” by Lady Gaga

(If you Cannot View the Video click here http://www.mtv.com/videos/lady-gaga/230371/just-dance.jhtml#artist=3061469)

 

A red one
Convict
Gaga

I’ve had a little bit too much
All of the people start to rush.
Start to rush by.
How does he twist the dance?
Can’t find my drink or man.
Where are my keys, I lost my phone.
What’s go-ing out on the floor?
I love this record baby, but I can’t see straight anymore.
Keep it cool what’s the name of this club?
I can’t remember but it’s alright, alright.

[Chorus:]
Just dance. Gonna be okay.
Da-doo-doo-doo
Just dance. Spin that record babe.
Da-doo-doo-doo
Just dance. Gonna be okay.
Duh-duh-duh-duh
Dance. Dance. Dance. Ju-just dance.

Wish I could shut my playboy mouth.
How’d I turn my shirt inside out? Inside out, right.
Control your poison babe
Roses have thorns they say.
And we’re all gettin’ hosed tonight.
What’s go-ing out on the floor?
I love this record baby, but I can’t see straight anymore.
Keep it cool what’s the name of this club?
I can’t remember but it’s alright, alright.

[Chorus]

[Colby O’Donis]
When I come through on the dance floor checking out that catalogue.
Can’t believe my eyes so many women without a flaw.

And I ain’t gonna’ give it up, steady tryna pick it up like a call
I’m gonna hit it, I’m gonna hit it and flex and do it until tomorrow, yeah
Shorty i can see that you got so much energy
The way you twirling up them hips round and round
There’s no reason, I know why you can’t leave here with me
In the meantime stay, let me watch you break it down.

[Chorus]

Half Psychotic, Sick hypnotic got my blueprint its symphonic.
Half Psychotic, sick hypnotic got my blueprint electronic.
Half Psychotic, Sick hypnotic got my blueprint its symphonic.
Half Psychotic, sick hypnotic got my blueprint electronic.

Go. Use your muscle, carve it out, work it, hustle
I got it, just stay close enough to get it
Don’t slow! Drive it, clean it, lights out, bleed it
Spend the last dough
(I got it)
In your Pocko
(I got it)

[Chorus]

 

As you can see, the obvious message of these songs is drinking and getting drunk. There is no evidence within these lyrics, whatsoever, that getting drunk is wrong, it seems very clear to me that these songs are actually promoting and beautifying drunkenness. Also,  if you pay attention, they both make a connection between being drunk and being sexual promiscuous.

I especially have a problem with what T-Pain says….He says:

“Girl I know you feel good
Just like you look
Couple more shots
You open up like a book
I ain’t tripping
(Cause I’mma read ya)
I ain’t tripping
(I just wanna please ya)
I’mma take a shot of *Nuvo
Shawty didn’t you know
It’s going down
And we can go and kick it like Judo
You know what I mean
Shawty got drunk, thought it all was a dream
So I made her say, “Ah, Ah, Ah”
Now she got her hands on my legs
Got my seats all wet in my ride
All over my ride
She look me dead in the eye (eye, eye)
Then my pants got bigger
She already knew what the figure
Had her looking at her boyfriend
Like xxxxx that Nigga”

 

Just so you know, I loved this song and I would listen to it all the time when it came on the radio…it is so fun and seriously I love the music. And look at what T-Pain says…basically, she’s drunk and she’ll open up like a book, but Oh, No…He aint trippin’ right, because he’s gonna read her. Wow, how clever T-Pain…you are so creative with your lyrics. And I giggle and laugh thinking, that was clever and I appreciate he’s creativity. But one day it hit me, that he is totally promoting stuff that I completely disagree with…and then He speks of getting an errection from the girl looking him in the eyes and how she was drunk and she thought it all was a dream (So, basically, he procedes to take advantage of here) “So I made her say, ‘Ah, Ah, Ah’ Now she got her hands on my legs Got my seats all wet in my ride All over my ride”…His message is pretty clear. Oh, and to top it off…she has a boyfriend apparently that she says good-bye to because she experienced T-Pain sex. How lovely!

That does not seem like a really good message to me, what do you think?

Oh, And Lady Gaga, first of all her video is just plain nasty and cheap. It is totally sexual and perverted. And her message is clear, that it is completey ALRIGHT for her to be drunk and to not remember what’s going on…but hey it’s alright, just keep dancin!

Unfortunately, these types of messages are all over the music that we listen to and the movies that we watch. I really do not want to just sing along to these songs and support them, and act as if there is nothing wrong wth them. I really have to be careful of what I allow myself to listen to and to watch because whether we like it or not, it gets put in us…and eventually it comes out of us. So, be careful people and just pay attention to what you’re listening to and watching.

 

Leave a Reply

