AnnaBanan’s Blog

Step Into My Mind…

Oh Death, Where is your Sting? July 26, 2009

I’m sorry to inform you, but it’s alive and well!

Call_of_DeathPC 

When has death been something that does not hurt?
We grieve, we mourn, we are sorrowful, we are confused, we weep and wail, we wonder why, and it never really leaves us deep down inside. Somewhere inside, underneath all of life’s distractions, we know we are destined to be men and women of sorrow, because death does sting us and death does have victory over us. Whether Christian or Non-Believer, everybody dies…and everybody hurts when someone close to us dies as well.

crying over death2

 

It is unfortunate but it is very true that “Tomorrow is promised to no one”…

 

13Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” (James 4:13-15)

Honestly, who are we fooling? Life is so short and it’s ridiculous to live life as if everyday isn’t precious. People take life for granted and they act as if they will life forever. REALITY CHECK: NOT GONNA HAPPEN!

I personally am guilty of forgetting that my life is so short and that I should take advantage of everyday that is given to me by God. Life and Death, such weird things!

Is it strange that as a Christian I’m sad about dying? It’s sad…yes, I said it’s sad! Yes, I am a Christian and I do know where Im going…but, I’m kind of sad about it and I have not shared this with a lot of people…but there have honestly been nights that I have wept and cried because I know that I am going to die or that people that I hold near and dear to me are going to die. I’m Afraid! THERE, I Said It! I’m Afraid of dying…

*GASP* *SHOCK*…some Christians reading this may possibly look down on me because of this. They could be wondering how I could possibly be scared of dying when I know exactly where I am going.

Well, the way that I see it is that I will be ripped away from everything that I have come to know and love. Everything that I experience and live out is what I know and what I am comfotable with. Sure, Heaven sounds like a really amazing place where I do want to eventually be, but there is not much said about it within the Scriptures and it is something that remains unknown to me overall…

Do I want Heaven more than Hell? Absolutely! Do I want to be where God is than to not? Of Course!

But what is it like? What am I going to experience? It is clear that my fear comes from the unknown.

I’ve actually taken a really long time to write this blog, mainly because I’ve been too dang busy, but also because I have been thinking about this topic for a very long time and I’m trying to find the right words to say to express how I feel. Still, there are times when I am totally at peace and that I could care less if I die. But, there are other times when it just hits me and I realize that all of my dreams and goals in life, my desires to be a wife and a mother, to be educated and to lead others to God until a wonderful old age, that can all be taken away from me within a moment. I could be gone with the blink of an eye and I have no control.

I’ve had, again, a lot of time to think about this, and I think it ALL comes down to TRUST! Do I trust God?

It is really difficult to trust God when you hear stories about some newlyweds with all of their hopes and dreams ahead of them, and all of a sudden God decides to take one of them home. Now, someone is left widowed and in utter sorrow. Or a man waking up one morning to find his wife dead next to him and not knowing why…

We have NO CONTROL, it is out of our hands. That is what i hate, but then again if it were in our hands, who would ever want to die. Plus, that is just way too much power for one person to have, to choose when to die that is.

Do I think that God is good? Absolutely! Do I think that He does things whether I want Him to or not? Of Course!

So, for me, it is not necessarily a matter of whether God is good or not, the point is that He is the one with the ultimate decision on when we go, and sometimes He does it at times when you would wonder why the heck He would take them so young… I guess I’m just really confused on this issue.

The way I deal with it is just realizing, that hey, everybody dies and everybody goes through it…so I think I can too! 

Another major way that I deal with it is remember Christ Himself and the fact that He Died too! He died and He experienced what all of us will eventually experience, and probably in the worse way ever. He saw it coming, He kenw He was going to die and He knew the way in which He was going to die. Sure, He did ask the Father to pass that cup from Him if He could, but ultimately He knew it was going to happen. He did not want to die that way, but He did and I am comforted by knowing that my God died too.

But, of course, He didn’t just die and stop there, He of course rose again in three days. I guess it is also comforting to know that God has power over death and that one day, when our physical bodies die, we will continue to live. Hopefully we will live with Himr ather than not.

Here are some song’s that comfort me or keep me grounded and remind me of the fact that life is too short and that we cannot walk around acting as if we will live forever. (Well, we sort of well, but not physically), that’s my point, we will not forever remian alive in our physical bodies here on Earth…

 

3 Responses to “Oh Death, Where is your Sting?”

  1. Tim A. Says:

    AnnaB,
    Life is not really about us. It is about Jesus and the Father. There is nothing in this life worthy of Jesus. He is the awesomest, most high, glorious. Death has been defeated by His death on the cross, and resurrection.
    Sure, we must face. Sure, we lose loved ones, friends, and we grieve, mourn and sorrow over them, and that is as we should.
    When Jesus is all you have; you will find He is all you need. When I die if there is no golden streets, and there is Jesus that will be enough. When I die, and if there is no gates of pearl, but there is Jesus that will be quite enough. When I die, and if there is no mansion, and there is Jesus He will be very sufficient.
    I hope you understand what I am saying. There is nothing in this world that can take the place of Jesus, and death for the Christian is about going home to see Him, and live eternally before His face; free and clear of sin, sickness, and where there will be no more death, mourning or sorrows and tears.
    May God bless you in your Christian journey.
    See you here, there, or in the air.
    T.A.

    • annabanan Says:

      Thank you so much for your comment. I appreciate the fact that you took the time to comment.
      I totally agree with you and I believe that you are absolutely correct. As long as Jesus is there, I think I’ll be just fine and content.
      Sometimes, I guess personally I forget that my home is not here.

  2. Hey Anna, great blog. Thanks for sharing this. I really enjoy reading your blogs. I can really relate to this one!


Leave a Reply

