AnnaBanan’s Blog

Step Into My Mind…

I Need You To Love Me. October 17, 2009

This is a song by Barlow Girl that has really been touching my heart for a long time now. Music does such a great job of reaching into your soul and spilling your guts out when you do not have the words yourself, at times.
This is one of those songs for me that I think a lot of us can relate to.

When I reflect on the Love of God and what he did for me on the cross, I am in utter awe and amazement of how wonderful and loving our God is.
But too many times, and for too many days, I have wasted time trying to earn God’s love and to somehow deserve God’s grace. Whether consciously or subconsciously, I was trying so hard to get God to love me. “I want to be perfect!” is what I would say and I was desperate. I HATE messing up and I want to do good. When I am not doing good, or when I do fail (which is more often than I would want), I think that I am somehow underserving now of God’s love and grace…as if it is by what I do that grace and love is given…

I know the truth, and I know the Scriptures that speak of God’s free gift to us. But for some reason, I cannot shake this feeling or deep desire to be righteous (and that’s not a bad thing), it’s just that it becomes bad when I think that it is by what I do that I earn something. It’s never been about me, Never. And it never will ever be about me and what I do or fail to do.
It is all about what Christ did; He has already done it, and what He continues to do in my life which is sanctification.

I hope that this song touches you and moves you as much as it does to me.

to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves. In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.” (Ephesians 1:6-8)

 

Leave a Reply

