AnnaBanan’s Blog

Step Into My Mind…

Let’s Talk About Death Baby! November 30, 2009

If you have not noticed yet, I am fascinated by the subject of death (NOTE: I am not trying to minimize the pain and hurt someone feels when they have a loss, not at all. My heart and prayers go out to those who have lost loved ones. It is so tough, that’s why I want to share this with you). It is such a deep and profound topic and we try to ignore or avoid it, yet it is inevitable. Why is it so difficult to talk about death when we know it is bound to happen to each and every one of us? Have you ever had a serious conversation with someone else about death….about your own death?

How would they feel if you were gone, and what would you want them to do when you go? Do you want them to know how much you love them? Do you want to wait until they are actually dead to finally realize that you should have told them so many things while they were alive, and you only wish that they were alive one more day for you to tell them everything?

My friends, do not wait for tomorrow to say what you have to say today, and to do what you have to do today. God willing, we all live until a good old age and have a wonderful and happy life, but we never really do know when our day will come. Do not wait, because it will be too late, I assure you.

Particularly with men that may not want to speak with their girlfriends or wives about death, maybe because they simply do not want to think about it, or because they do not want to cry. But please to all you men out there, let your women know how you feel and allow them to share how they feel. Do not be afraid to let your feelings be known to your loved ones.

Have you talked with your mother or father about it? Have you let them cry with you? This is difficult if you are not close with them, and I am not tring to say that you should go around and talk to every single person you know about death and how you will miss them. But I do want to challenge you to be willing or at least open to the possibility of speaking about this topic with those who are close to you. Think of the people you will be most heart-broken to lose, and maybe consider speaking to those people about it. Tell them how you feel about them and allow them to tell you how they feel about you. I think this is a very important and amazing experience.

Of course, do not force people to speak if they do not want to, and if you really want to talk about it with someone but they just do not want to, then that is fine. Maybe all you have to say is that…”When you go, just know that I will miss you and that I love you”. Sometimes that is all they have to hear. As long as you do your part and say what you had to say, then I am certain that you will be content.

 

4 Responses to “Let’s Talk About Death Baby!”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Thanks so much for posting this. You’re right: death is something that we don’t want to think about, and we’re so good at avoiding it that it never occurs to us that we ought to think about it in the first place!

    I remember reading The Emotionally Healthy Church for one of my classes in LPC, and I remember being really taken aback by the chapter on grieving. That’s kind of how your post made feel. 🙂

    Anyway, I hope you’re doing well and that this post wasn’t inspired by something tragic! I wrote a new post today myself, and here it is if you want to check it out: http://bit.ly/8anxqK

    – Jenn

    • annabanan Says:

      Thank you so much for commenting. I really like to know what my readers think about the things I post. I think death is such an important part of life. it needs to be discussed.
      I am glad that you have dealt with these types of topics and have realized the importance of not avoiding it.

      A relative did pass away in August, but I have been thinking about death long before that and even after, of course. It is just more close to home now, I guess.

  2. Klaudia Says:

    A very nice Topic. Thanks alot hope you go for the detail next time!

    • annabanan Says:

      Thank you for reading and thanks for your comment =)
      but I’m kind of confused, what did you mean when you said, “go for the detail next time”?


Leave a Reply

