AnnaBanan’s Blog

Step Into My Mind…

“I have had all I can stand” February 18, 2010

Filed under: DEATH,Hate,Problems,Values — annabanan @ 5:55 pm
Tags: , , , ,

          This is a very recent story of an angry man named Joseph Stack (age 53). This story is too interesting and upsetting for me and I just have to post about it. You can get the full story about him here at this link: http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/us_plane_crash_texas

          I write about him because he was a man like a lot of us, filled with a lot of anger and a feeling of hopelessness. In fact, he was so tired of life that he flew his single-engine Piper Cherokee into an International Revenue Service (IRS) building. It was a building that housed an IRS office and about 200 IRS employees.

          He had some run-ins with the IRS, and he also tried to start a software company twice in California that were both suspended by the state’s tax board in 2000 and 2004. His wife had also filed bankruptcy in 1999 with a debt of about $126,000. Most of us can relate to the reality of financial problems, especially in a time like this.

          Officials also found somewhat of a suicide note that he posted online before he took off on his suicidal attack on the IRS building in Austin, Texas. He also set fire to his own house before he took off.

          In the note he said something that really caught my attention, he said, “I have had all I can stand,” the note dated Thursday, he continued, “I choose not to keep looking over my shoulder at `big brother’ while he strips my carcass.”

          He was on the edge and he finally broke. I just want to point out that what we believe in theory effects how we behave, live our lives, and the decisions that we make. He clearly believed that money was more important than anything and he also did not value his life or others’ lives as well.

          It is a shock, it is upsetting, by why am I not surprised? I am not at all surprised because it is clear to me that this person did not believe in Jesus Christ. What hope do we have in this world that is excedingly corrupt and quickly perishing other than God? We are eternal beings trapped in finite and decaying bodies and there is no hope in this life other than Jesus Christ, our Savior and our God.

          I have been through much in my life and I cannot even begin to imagine how I would have handled things without the hope and trust I have in Christ. What is life worth living for without him? We live in an age that says, “What is true for you is true for you, and what is true for me is true for me.  All things are relative!”. Really? There is no right and wrong? Joseph Stack burnnig down his house, taking his own life and attempting to the take the life of others is the RIGHT way of handling things? Of course not!

          Why it is no surprise that he would take his life in a world that says that we exist because of utter and inconcievable and impossible chance that we are so convinced about. Anything to take God otu of the picture. We’re just chemicals magically combined for no purpose at all; our lives serve no purpose! We are nothing! We are not valuable and nobody will really care if you live or die.

          We live, we suffer, and then we die! But I tell you my dear friends that there is a loop hole (as Crossmovement so wonderfully puts it). God dies for YOU on that old jaged cross 2000 years ago in opne of the most painful and horrific ways so that you would KNOW that you are LOVED, that you are VALUABLE, and that you do have a PURPOSE!

          It is so unfortunate and heartbreaking that Joseph Stack at the age of 53 did not realize this truth. His life is more then failed attempts at opening a company and being in financial debt. It is more than trying to barely survive or “Get Rich or Die Trying” as Fifty-Cent puts it.

          But those who put their trust in the Lord, even in the midst of utter chaos and distress can stand firm and boldly say, “yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior.”
(Habakkuk 3:18)

          This world has lied to you and has told you that joy comes from money, cars, sex, drugs, the “American Dream”……”and in every sort of evil that deceives those who are perishing. They perish because they refused to love the truth and so be saved.” (2 Thessalonians 2:10)

          Do not be decieved and to not be fooled by what this world has to offer you.    

          But it is said, “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” (1 Corinthians 1:18) 

          Do not let this world veil your eyes to the truth. Christ loves you and He came to save you. Open your eyes. You are valuable and worth it. So was Joseph Stack, but because he neglecting to acknowledge the love of Christ and His saving grace, he perished….

 

One Response to ““I have had all I can stand””

  1. Colo Detox Says:

    Very good blog post I love your site keep up the great posts


Leave a Reply

