AnnaBanan’s Blog

Step Into My Mind…

Time Whispers December 31, 2010

With the New Year RIGHT around the corner, I figured this would be an appropriate time to share a little poem I wrote. Also, this blog is dedicated in memory of my dear friend and brother in Christ, Haig Diradourian, who passed away on December 23, 2010. You are deeply loved and missed. I write in hopes that you will all learn from Haig’s life and death and appreciate your own lives and the lives of others around you…

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

The hands that hold me the tightest
Are the ones on a clock
I’m trying to run fast and Time laughs
And says mockingly, “Look how far you got!”
He says, “Catch me if you can
And try to keep up
Because once I am gone
You will never get me back”
He says, “Catch me if you can,
Catch me if you can.”
And I’m sitting here waiting for life to start
As Time flies past me without a second thought
He says, “Jump on my wings and enjoy the ride
It’s better to fly now than to wait for more time”
And I don’t know why I haven’t taken his offer
I let Time pass by and continue to suffer
He tells me, “I’ve seen many come and many go
I continue on forever but you know you physically don’t
I’ve seen many kingdoms rise and fall
And I’ve seen greed and pride overtake them all
I’ve seen the wicked and the righteous alike
Vanish and fade away without a chance to fight
I’ve seen the wise and the fool all the same
Succeed and fail, but nonetheless pass away
So give up what you cannot keep
To gain what you cannot lose
You do not choose this life
But you get to choose what you do
So cling to that which is eternal
And forsake that which is temporary
You won’t fully understand it now
But when you’re dead and gone you’ll thank me
So catch me if you can,
Catch me if you can.”
And the hands that hold me the tightest
Are the ones on a clock
Time whispers, “Hold me tightly and use me wisely
For I will never come back.”

(Oct 28, 2010)

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I wanted to take a moment to share a very personal experience I had. As Haig was in the hospital dying of cancer I went to visit him. It was December 2, 2010, and I came home and wrote this down because it so profoundly impacted me. It is something I will always remember and hold near to my heart, and I didn’t think I would share this with anyone but I want to share it with you.

Here is what I wrote…

It’s hard to watch a mother hug her dying son.

I watched as she put her arms around him and embraced him gently, and slowly, with the most love a mother could have in her eyes, she kissed the back of his neck. So bittersweet. The most bittersweet moment I have ever wittnessed. Sweet – because she was grateful that he was still alive for her to kiss. But I could almost hear her heart burst into bits when the breath of death left a bitter taste upon her lips.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I don’t want to leave you feeling hopeless. There is certainly hope and Haig understood that this life is temporary and our hope can only be found in our God and Savior Jesus Christ.  So I wanted to share a quote by Haig himself. At the ripe age of 23 he died of cancer, but he understood and embraced things far beyond his years….

“The fact that this life on Earth appears evanescent and transient in our human physical form reminds us that indeed we have been created for something more than our physical present manifest.” ~Haig Diradourian

He understood that there is more to this life. I hope that you too will embrace this truth.

Have a Happy New Year and make every second count! ❤

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Haig’s favorite song…played for him a few hours before his death and at his funeral.

We will always remember you Haig, faithful servant of God.

 

One Response to “Time Whispers”

  1. Jason Saboury Says:

    Thank you Anna for this, it is an amazing memorial that I as well as others that love Haig can still visit and remember. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

